Proposed defendants (registered Flare C-chain infrastructure-provider identity addresses)
0x7e74D30eF4dd811830118645633a9471f6cc63D3(self-identified in a pending Bifrost listing application as Rotko Networks)0xb70c6987626A96df66C9068bd10b84Ecb8e949df(currently unnamed in the public dashboards reviewed)
Snapshot date: 30 August 2026 (UTC)
Requested action: A first chill of both provider identities under FIP.02, with each address submitted as a separate PollingFtso proposal if the contract requires one defendant per proposal, followed by mandatory consolidation to one registered on-chain infrastructure-provider identity. Failure to remediate by the end of the first chill will trigger immediate second-strike proposals seeking permanent removal.
September 8 addendum
After feedback from a foundation employee the correct remediation procedure would be to unregister the nodes from participation while leaving them running to prevent block gaps, chilling is not exclusive from full validator shut down.
Remediation process should read that if the nodes are not unregistered from the network by the end of the chill period then the second proposal moves forward.
This proposal does not allege copied prices, duplicated FTSO submissions, or poor price accuracy. The alleged infraction is that one entity—Sceptre—owns the validator self-bonds and validator reward rights used across two separately registered on-chain infrastructure-provider identities. No person or entity may operate more than one registered on-chain infrastructure-provider identity.
Executive assessment
The central evidence is the validators’ self-bond and reward-owner accounts, considered together with the host attribution and Sceptre’s first-party admission:
- Every one of the seven individual Catenalytica Validator Details pages identifies the node’s host as Rotko Networks. This is node-level host discovery, not an inference from either provider’s name. Flare Builders corroborates the four nodes under the first identity, while the second identity’s page shows its three active nodes as Rotko Networks.
- Rotko’s pending TowoLabs pull request #459 self-identifies the first address as Rotko Networks and says Rotko operates its own bare-metal Flare infrastructure, including four validator nodes.
- FIP.05 defines self-bond as the stake an entity must provide to become a validator. In every decoded P-chain validator-registration transaction, the 20M-FLR
stakeoutput,validationRewardsOwner, anddelegationRewardsOwnerall point to the same one of four P-chain accounts. Posting those self-bonds is a direct on-chain claim of validator ownership: the four accounts own the returned principal and both validator reward streams. Every registration TxID is linked in section 1.3’s first transaction table. - The corresponding C-chain accounts were all granted privileged
DEPOSIT,WITHDRAW, and instant-redemption-buffer roles on the Sceptre sFLR contract by the same sFLR administrator on 15 July 2026. The deposit/withdraw grants formed one two-minute batch; the four buffer grants formed a later 43-second batch. Every grant is linked in section 1.3’s role-grant table. - The four accounts then used those privileged Sceptre roles to withdraw approximately 20M FLR from the sFLR pool immediately before each corresponding 20M-FLR P-chain self-bond. Six validator registrations followed 24–26 seconds after the privileged withdrawal; the seventh followed within ten minutes. The exact C-chain calls, P-chain imports, and validator-registration TxIDs are linked row by row in section 1.3’s direct-funding timeline.
- This repeated funding sequence demonstrably identifies the C-chain accounts as Sceptre-owned/controlled operational accounts in the on-chain sense defined in section 1.3. The linked transaction record connects each privileged pool withdrawal to the same owner’s P-chain import and self-bond transaction. The two Provider A owner accounts also have exact linked validator-reward claim transactions; the newer Provider B accounts own the reward rights in their exact linked registration transactions. These are not merely outside wallets delegating liquid-staking funds to unrelated validators.
- Sceptre publicly stated in its May 2026 recap that it was testing one validator and considering operating its own validator to avoid entity fees and gain more control over rewards.
- In a 10 August 2026 X reply,
@SceptreLSwent further: in response to a question about anonymous new providers receiving exceptionally large Sceptre delegations, it expressly said the referenced node was run by Sceptre and linked the May recap. That admitting reply has since been deleted from X, but its original JSON remains recoverable through the Internet Archive’s raw Wayback capture. - Five additional P-chain wallets that supply the external delegated stake map to C-chain accounts funded and role-authorized by the same sFLR administrator. Every cited delegation, initial funding transfer, and role grant is linked to its exact transaction in section 1.5. This corroborates the Sceptre relationship but is not required for the central finding.
Taken together, the evidence establishes the relevant ownership and hosting facts: Sceptre-controlled accounts supplied and own every validator self-bond and both validator reward streams, making the seven validators Sceptre’s nodes; Catenalytica identifies Rotko Networks as the host of every node.
1. Observation
1.1 Two registered on-chain provider identities are running validator sets on the same Rotko infrastructure
The two provider identities are:
- Provider A —
0x7e74…63D3, delegation address0x7e9bc5C2d12711bAB79e93eb5a6e6c6D9A084f8C. - Provider B —
0xb70c…49df, delegation address0x7060082318372a2CC4917BA1CE7b6481371f7E00.
Provider A currently has four active validators. Provider B currently has three active validators and has also displayed a fourth, now-expired NodeID in Catenalytica. The seven active validators are:
| Registered provider identity | Validator Details page | Catenalytica host discovery | Self-bond |
|---|---|---|---|
0x7e74…63D3 |
NodeID-436a…78NR | Rotko Networks | 20M FLR |
0x7e74…63D3 |
NodeID-QK6w…kyBE | Rotko Networks | 20M FLR |
0x7e74…63D3 |
NodeID-C3cw…h3a3 | Rotko Networks | 20M FLR |
0x7e74…63D3 |
NodeID-LwpT…uExo | Rotko Networks | 20M FLR |
0xb70c…49df |
NodeID-QcDi…bY8 | Rotko Networks | 20M FLR |
0xb70c…49df |
NodeID-K8GP…XMq | Rotko Networks | 20M FLR |
0xb70c…49df |
NodeID-Q3Mp…vJs | Rotko Networks | 20M FLR |
Each NodeID in the table links directly to its own Catenalytica Validator Details page. Every page reports that validator as hosted by Rotko Networks. Catenalytica’s underlying node-level records encode the same result as location.isp: "Rotko Networks", with separate discovery records and check timestamps for the seven nodes. This is direct validator-by-validator host attribution, not an inference from the registered identity or provider name. Flare Builders also displays Rotko Networks beneath every node.
The host discovery establishes that all seven validators use Rotko infrastructure. The on-chain self-bond ownership evidence below establishes the separate ownership link to Sceptre-privileged accounts.
1.2 Rotko has self-attributed Provider A and its four validators
On 13 August 2026, GitHub user hitchho, whose profile identifies rotko.net, opened TowoLabs PR #459. The application identifies 0x7e74…63D3 as Rotko Networks and states that Rotko operates its own bare-metal Flare infrastructure, including FTSO, FDC, and four validator nodes. Its sole commit was authored and committed by Tommi Niemi using [email protected].
The proposed Bifrost entry also requests "listed": true. This is relevant because TowoLabs’ extended listing requirements say that a resilient team runs only one signal provider attracting vote power per network, and an independent team has no legal, development, or operational ties to another signal provider.
Evidence placement: To comply with the Discourse post limit, sections 1.3–1.5 and the complete transaction/reproducibility record are posted in the first reply directly below. That reply is an integral part of this proposal.
2. Analysis: Why this is a governance infraction
2.1 One Sceptre-owned validator cluster across two registered on-chain identities
The infraction examined here is operation by one entity through multiple registered on-chain infrastructure-provider identities. It does not depend on which individual protocol function an identity performs or on the number of validators assigned to it.
Here, the evidence connects both registered on-chain identities at multiple independent layers:
- Host/operator layer: every active node is identified as Rotko Networks.
- Public attribution layer: Rotko claims Provider A and four validators.
- Validator-ownership layer: the exact registration and role-grant transactions linked in section 1.3 show that the accounts owning the self-bond outputs and validator rewards for both providers were batch-authorized as privileged Sceptre pool operators by the same Sceptre role administrator.
- Direct-funding layer: the exact C-chain and P-chain transactions linked in section 1.3 show those accounts exercising Sceptre-only roles to withdraw approximately 20M FLR from the sFLR pool immediately before posting each 20M-FLR self-bond—six within 24–26 seconds and all seven within ten minutes.
- Reward-flow layer: the exact registration transactions linked in section 1.3 assign both validator reward streams to the same Sceptre-controlled owners; that section also links the two Provider A owners’
ValidatorRewardManager.claimtransactions. - Delegated-stake layer: the exact delegation transactions linked in section 1.5 show Sceptre’s operating wallets supplying outside stake across both identities, including one reward owner that crosses from a Provider A validator to a Provider B validator.
- Admission layer: Sceptre first acknowledged an active validator test and later expressly said that the node referenced in a large-delegation inquiry was run by Sceptre.
The self-bond and reward-owner transactions establish ownership: these are Sceptre’s validators. The validator-detail records separately establish that Rotko Networks hosts all seven. Rotko hosting does not change Sceptre’s ownership of the nodes used across both registered on-chain identities.
2.2 Prohibited operation of more than one registered on-chain infrastructure-provider identity
No person or entity may operate more than one registered on-chain infrastructure-provider identity. This is a binary identity rule: an operator is either operating an identity or it is not. The seven exact self-bond registrations identify a single owner—Sceptre—operating validator infrastructure across the two registered identities. Rotko hosting does not convert Sceptre’s separately presented nodes into independent providers.
The P-chain records ownership through the self-bond and reward-owner fields but cannot itself prevent the owner from presenting different C-chain FTSO addresses as separate infrastructure providers. That is precisely why Management Group enforcement is required here.
2.3 Listing representations and ecosystem transparency
Rotko’s pending Bifrost application asks to be treated as a listed provider while representing four validators under Provider A. It does not disclose the second Rotko-hosted identity or the Sceptre operational linkage.
That omission is material under TowoLabs’ published extended requirements, which require a listed provider to run only one signal provider attracting vote power per network and to have no operational ties to another signal provider. This proposal does not ask the Management Group to administer Bifrost’s private list, but the listing application is relevant evidence of how the operation is represented to users.
2.4 FIP.02 permits case-by-case infractions
FIP.02 deliberately leaves “infractions” open-ended and gives non-exhaustive examples. It requires a public discussion, reasons, provider address, and evidence. Therefore, the Management Group can evaluate undisclosed common operation and conduct affecting an adopted entity-level safeguard without turning this matter into an allegation about price submissions.
2.5 Network harm
Allowing one undisclosed operating cluster to present itself as two independent infrastructure entities can:
- undermine adopted entity-level validator safeguards;
- concentrate validation, FTSO/FSP weight, fees, and rewards;
- mislead delegators and stakers who believe they are diversifying across independent providers;
- create common-mode operational risk across apparently separate providers; and
- weaken the credibility of provider directories and the Management Group’s entity-based controls.
3. Summary of charges
Charge 1 — Sceptre ownership and control of the validator accounts
The exact transactions in section 1.3 show Sceptre-privileged accounts directly sourcing the validator principal from the Sceptre sFLR pool, then posting and owning the self-bonds and validator rewards for the Rotko-hosted validator sets attached to both 0x7e74…63D3 and 0xb70c…49df. The repeated privileged-withdrawal-to-self-bond sequence is direct on-chain evidence of Sceptre ownership and control, inconsistent with presenting the providers as independent without disclosure.
Charge 2 — Operation by one entity through multiple infrastructure-provider identities
The exact role-provisioning and funding transactions in section 1.3 show the July batches and seven repeated self-bond funding sequences spanning both registered on-chain identities. They establish deliberate operation by Sceptre through multiple separately registered infrastructure-provider identities rather than incidental delegation or hosting. The infraction is complete once the same entity operates more than one registered identity; protocol role, activity mix, validator count, and stake expiry do not alter that test.
Charge 3 — Material omission in a public provider-listing application
The Rotko application identifies only Provider A and its four validators while requesting listed status under requirements that prohibit multiple signal providers and operational ties to another provider. The second Rotko/Sceptre-linked identity is not disclosed.
4. Proposed action
I propose that the Infrastructure Provider/FTSO Management Group:
- Open public discussion against both provider identity addresses.
- Invite Rotko Networks, Sceptre, and Rome Blockchain Labs to identify any specific transaction, decoded ownership field, or address mapping they contend is incorrect, and to disclose all current and historical NodeIDs attached to the two defendant identities.
- Submit separate formal chill proposals for:
0x7e74D30eF4dd811830118645633a9471f6cc63D3; and0xb70c6987626A96df66C9068bd10b84Ecb8e949df.
- Apply the first-chill consequence specified by FIP.02: removal from participation and ineligibility to reapply for two FTSO reward epochs.
- Make reinstatement conditional on the remediation requirements below.
- Request that TowoLabs reject or pause PR #459 and any
listeddesignation while more than one Sceptre-owned infrastructure identity exists.
Chilling only one address would leave the same entity operating through the other infrastructure-provider identity. The proposed action therefore covers both addresses. The required public discussion remains the proper venue for correcting a specific factual or transaction-decoding error.
Required remediation and second-strike escalation
The first chill must carry a clear, binary remediation requirement. By the end of the two-reward-epoch chill, Sceptre must:
- publicly designate one—and only one—surviving registered C-chain infrastructure-provider identity;
- cause every other Sceptre-owned or Sceptre-controlled provider identity—including whichever defendant address is not the survivor—to be removed from the on-chain provider registry and to cease operating;
- cease all operation of every identity other than the survivor, including protocol submissions, provider registration, whitelisting or listing activity, and use of that identity for any validator or infrastructure-provider function;
- publish the surviving identity and all NodeIDs that will remain associated with it; and
- refrain from replacing any removed identity with a new address, brand, nominee, self-bond account, NodeID set, or hosting arrangement.
Existing stake and self-bond expiry dates create no grace period and no excuse for continued operation of a separate provider identity. Sceptre chose the duration and expiry of each registration through its own staking transactions, as recorded in the exact validator-registration TxIDs linked in section 1.3; those self-imposed dates cannot postpone the remediation deadline. The stake remains locked until its recorded expiry, but that lock neither requires nor authorizes continued operation or registration of a separate on-chain identity. The remediation test is binary: after the deadline, exactly one Sceptre-owned or Sceptre-controlled infrastructure-provider identity may remain registered and operating. Every other identity must be removed from the provider registry and cease operating by the end of the first chill. Consolidation is not satisfied by rotating wallets, moving the same nodes, renaming an entity, or shifting the same Sceptre-owned self-bonds behind a new on-chain provider address.
If Sceptre has not completed this consolidation by the end of the first chill, the failure will trigger immediate second-chill proposals against both defendant identities and any successor identity used to continue the same operation. FIP.02 specifies that a second chilling permanently bans the provider. The second-strike proposals should therefore request:
- permanent removal of both defendant identities;
- lifetime disqualification of Sceptre and Rotko Networks from operating, controlling, or presenting an infrastructure provider on Flare, including through replacement addresses, nominees, brands, or successor entities; and
- treatment of any attempted address or entity rotation as continuation of the permanently banned providers rather than a new application.
At the same time, the Management Group should open the floor for a separate discussion on whether the lifetime entity-level exclusion should extend to Rome Blockchain Labs, which Sceptre’s own Privacy Policy identifies as “the Company” providing the Sceptre services and whose public repository contains the Sceptre liquid-staking contracts. That extension should be decided openly because it concerns the company behind the Sceptre product, not merely the two presently identified provider addresses.
